It’s Christmas and I’m grateful

three-musketeers

This picture was on display in all of our houses.  It’s a few years old now, but still a favourite.

2016 hasn’t been the best of years.  As a family, we’ve had some complicated health issues, and we lost a dear friend, whose spirit wasn’t ready to die, but whose body had finally had enough.  She fought for every one of her sixty years.  I loved her and I miss her dreadfully.

But today, it’s Christmas, and I’m grateful for the good things.  Because I am a believer and it’s Christmas, this has come out in the form of a prayer.  If that’s not your style, feel free to skip the God parts.  I hope that you, too, have things to be grateful for this festive season and that you like it.

Thank you, Lord, for my family.  The ones who live here with me, the ones who are far away as I write but ever in my heart, and the ones I have adopted for myself.  Sometimes I don’t know why they love me, but I know they do and it sustains me as you intended it to. Help me to show my love and gratitude better, so that I can sustain them too.

Thank you for my friends.  Thanks for the ones who came around for supper last night, thereby sharing the Christmas spirit and giving me an excuse to eat samosas and profiteroles for breakfast.  (They were left over, Lord, what could I do?)  Thank you for the ones who are always there and the ones who are constant through long periods of silence.  I would be lost without them.  Help me to show them how much they mean to me.

Thank you for the food.  Thank you for its freshness, its deliciousness and its healthfulness (profiteroles are good for my mental health, I’m sure).  At this time of year, when my fridge is gasping to keep up with the load, I am grateful for my country’s and my family’s abundance.  Teach me never to take that for granted and to be as generous as you are.

Thank you for my church community.  I am so grateful to be surrounded by good people who care for each other.  I am grateful that I live in a country where it is safe for me to worship with my community in peace; to go to midnight mass without fear.  Help me to remember how lucky I am and never cease to pray and agitate for all people to have the freedom to worship, or not, however they choose.

Thank you for my choir.  We won’t be performing for the Queen any time soon, but this year they have grown so much, in numbers and skill and I helped them to do that.  Thank you for showing me that I can do this and for all the benefits it has brought me.  May I always equal my choir members in generosity of spirit and willingness to learn and may I continue to help them and through them, our community of faith.

Thank you for all the friends that I ‘see’ mainly online.  My ‘virtual’ friends are every bit as real as my more visible ones and they help to keep me sane.  Thank you for this new way of creating community.  Help me to use it well.

Lord, this one is hard to say, but… thank you for the grief.  It’s no fun, Lord.  There is a hole in my life where my friend used to be.  I know she is still there, but she is with me in a different way now.  I’m not sure I will ever adjust to that change, or even that I want to.  But it is teaching me to value my time and my loved ones more, at least I hope it is.  Help me to make that true.  She loved nothing more than to help others, so I know she’d like that!

Thanks for the perspective. Lord.  I know that I shouldn’t sweat the small stuff and if there is one thing this year has taught me, it’s that most of it is small stuff.  Help me to hold on to that knowledge, when I am tempted to get bogged down, physically or emotionally, in future.

Thank you for the anti-depressants, Lord and for my psychologist.  I still feel ashamed to need them when I am so blessed, but I do – and without the help, this year would have sent me very deep into the nasty, smelly hole where depression lives.  Thank you for helping me to be present for my family and friends this year – at least some of them – and to feel my grief as grief rather than the paralysing, black blanket of depression.  Help me to turn it into greater compassion for others.

Thank you for my health. The older I get, the more I am grateful to be well and ambulatory.  If you could see your way clear to sorting out these hormones, I would mightily appreciate it, but I know there are more important things and if you’re busy, I’ll manage.  It’s just life, after all, and life is better than the alternative.  (Sorry if that’s a bit dark, Lord, but that’s how I think, these days.  I figure you understand.)  Help me to continue to appreciate what I have and work to keep it.

Thank you for my country.  I appreciate that it is still relatively sane and safe, when so many in the world don’t have those luxuries.  Help me to find ways to encourage what is good and make better what is poor and mean-spirited.  And help everyone in the world with freedom and means to work for the benefit of those whose lives and liberties are threatened or taken away.

Thank you for all the ‘small’ things that bring me joy: the birds in the backyard; the strawberries from the garden; books and movies that move or amuse me; my child’s smiles, my husband’s hugs, ham and cheese croissants and coffee and all the myriad things that make life good.  Help me to keep them more present in my mind than complaints.

Help me always to be as grateful as I am today.

Amen

 

Merry Christmas.  I hope it is truly a season of peace and goodwill for you and the world.

Imelda

Copyright © Imelda Evans 2016

 

9 thoughts on “It’s Christmas and I’m grateful

  1. I always love what you have to say, Imelda, and how you say it. There is never enough time. I loved to see you in person this year at RWA in Adelaide, but you weren’t that well then, and I would have loved more of a chat.
    I value your friendship enormously, and I’m so thankful for that.

    Best wishes
    Lily M
    xx

    • Thank you, Lily. I love you too! This year wasn’t the best time, as I had actually just buried my friend the day before I came to conference. I’m not entirely sure I was conscious half the time! Maybe next year we should make a booking with each other! Surely we can squeeze a drink or a coffee in there somewhere? XX, I

  2. Dear Imelda,
    Your thankfulness is a joy to me. I could not have said thank you better, so I adopt your thank you, and send it to the world!
    I miss you, Imelda, and am always happy to see you.
    Merry Christmas
    Happy New Year
    Love and Peace
    Resa
    xo

    • I miss you too, Resa, but I am determined to be around more this year. I know it’s a cliche, but for me to write more would absolutely be what my friend would have wanted. So in her honour, as well as for my own reasons, it’s the year of the words! Best of the season and love to you too, m’dear! Imelda xo

  3. Thank you Imelda. I share your thoughts (with subtle variations such as which health issues beset us), although could not articulate them as well. Love & best wishes.

    Chris

    • Thanks Chris. I’m sorry that you’ve had a rough time too. I have a letter half-written to you. I will finish it! Love to you and all the family too. I hope you are all well and having a good Christmastide. I.

  4. Pingback: New Year’s Notions | Wine, Women & Wordplay

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

