Some music for the mid-week slump

Sometimes, whether it’s mid-week, mid-day or mid-life, you need a lift.

Music is one of my favourite lifters and recently, I have been delighted to discover  Postmodern Jukebox.  Their specialty is covers of modern songs in older styles – and man, do they have style!

I’ve included some of my favourites here, but there is whole rabbit hole full of others on youtube.  Make yourself a cuppa and go try a few.  There are links underneath the videos to buy recordings if you want them on your playlist.

Enjoy!

I can’t tell you how much I love this.  Actually I can.  I’m learning it and intend to include it in my future cabaret act!

The Star Wars arrangement alone is worth the price of admission, but Sarah Reich is fantastic!

Sadly, I can’t do an Andres-sisters-style number by myself, otherwise this might be on the list to learn too!

There is something appropriate about ‘Thrift Shop’ being done in a vintage style!

And finally, All About That Bass with harmonies and actual bass!

 

6 thoughts on “Some music for the mid-week slump

    • Isn’t it fun? I’ve actually discovered quite a few new songs through these covers – which I think tells you all you need to know about how up with the musical times I am! Although I had heard ‘All about that bass’. There are a ton of others, too. Glad you liked them!

  1. Pingback: The Honesty Ferret | Wine, Women & Wordplay

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

