I love this project

I came across this project today on Facebook, thanks to a writer friend and I had to share it here.

It combines several of my favourite things: helping kids at risk, using business for social justice, helping people to help themselves and gorgeous handbags!  I have been thinking lately that I need a new bag (I’m kind of hard on them) and for the last few years I have made a point of only buying fair-trade or otherwise helpful handbags.  (Which, by the way, is so going to be my band name: Imelda and the helpful handbags.)  So this project came along at just the right time.  I have signed myself up for a ‘loop’ bag and am looking forward to it being in my Christmas stocking!  So if you are in the market for a handbag, or a little social justice action with your Christmas, hop over and pledge.  The project is here: http://www.pozible.com/project/186203.

FYI – In case you haven’t seen a Pozible project before, it is another version of crowdfunding, a la Kickstarter.  In other words, it’s an opportunity for people to raise start-up funds for a business or project by offering rewards to people who pledge certain amounts.  As the amounts go up, so do the rewards.  There are some wacky crowd-funding ideas out there, but this looks like one of the good ones to me.  Because the project will produce products, the rewards are simple and easy to understand.  The woman running the project (apart from being a cousin of a woman whose integrity I respect) has done this kind of thing before, so you can be reasonably confident that it will go ahead as planned.  And, as with all such projects, the payment is only processed if they reach their target.  I wouldn’t recommend all crowd-funded projects, but for all those reasons (as well as its intentions) this looks like one of the good ones to me.  See for yourself!

Cheers, Imelda

 

PS – just dropped back in to say something else about Kickstarter and Pozible and other such crowdfunding options.  One of the best reasons to crowdfund something is to maintain independence.  That doesn’t so much apply to the project above, but it does to two others I have contributed to, namely, The Illusionists documentary and the Wonky Health blog about medical policy.  The latter also supports my commitment to paying people for quality content.  I’m a writer.  Writers need to be paid, especially if we want informed, qualified content, which Wonky Health is.  I think I have supported a couple of other kickstarters as well, but those are book-related and I buy so many books, I have forgotten the details.  But I just wanted to make the point that the reason for the crowdfund is one of the things to take into account when assessing whether supporting the project is for you.

2 thoughts on “I love this project

  1. Crowd funding is one of those things that is probably in a bit of a bubble right now as people jump on the bandwagon, thinking they can get money for all sorts of things. They work best when they are for projects that are viable and high-quality and have all the appropriate commitments and people attached beforehand and they just need some seeding funding to get it off the ground. I think it’s an idea that will stay with us, but will probably calm down as the crazy people who think it’s a free money spout drop off and the people with good projects hang in there. I have supported three (I think) projects to date. One was a movie about women’s issues, one was funding to pay qualified people to blog about government policy in the area of medicine (because there is a lot of uninformed nonsense in medical policy and I thought it was worthwhile) and this one. I’ve been happy with all of those contributions, but there can be issues. Sometimes the projects never produce the thing they set out to produce, because they under or overestimate the issues or their capacity. I found this example: http://online.wsj.com/articles/big-kickstarter-campaign-overwhelms-radiate-athletics-1410394283. Good lesson in being prepared for success! So there’s always a bit of a risk in contributing to these things, but you could say the same for ordering products online. You have to take reasonable precautions about the bona fides and business sense and record of the people doing it and then take your chances. I like the principles of this one, so I’m prepared to take the chance! 🙂

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

