Of Mice and Progress and the Undertoad…

First, allow me to explain the concept of the Undertoad.

It’s a concept I learned from the Victorian Storytelling Guild.  I’m sure it has it’s origins in a mis-hearing of ‘undertow’ and there is undoubtedly a story that goes with that (really, undoubtedly 😉  ) but that’s for another day.  Today is for what it has come to mean.

Oral storytellers are performers and, as all performers who have been doing it for more than five minutes know, when it comes to performance, planning ahead and rehearsal is really important.  But no matter how hard you plan and rehearse and think you are prepared, there is always the risk of the undertoad.

The undertoad is that unexpected something that you can’t plan for, that you couldn’t forsee, that can throw you for a loop and disrupt the best-laid plans.  It’s the school that overinvites, because, surely, there’s no difference between telling to 20 children and 200?  Or the festival that thinks that putting you outside on a stage with a microphone is exactly the same as inside in a library, as long as the weather’s good.  The only way to handle the undertoad is to know that he could appear at any moment and to be flexible enough to manage the situation.

Well, that’s how my November’s turning out.

Monday was supposed to be my first full day of planning for my new book, in keeping with my NaNo commitment to plan first and write next, I had my Alexandra Sokoloff board all sectioned off and my index cards and was raring to go.  I have very little of this story nutted out to date.  I have one character, possibly two, who I know quite well and some ideas and that’s about it.  But I had faith that with some work it would all come together.  And it would have.  Except…

Except my child woke up in a very bad way and needed looking after.  And in the course of looking after her, I discovered that I had a mouse resident in my under-sink cupboard.  And that he’d ventured into the cupboard next door as well and left his calling cards everywhere.  I actually picked him up, accidentally, in a cloth that he’d made his house, but sadly didn’t realise in time to catch him and put him outside.

So Monday, instead of a wondrous flurry of planning, became a day of disinfecting and washing things and nursing and all manner of things I didn’t intend.  Undertoads, in fact.

Tuesday was a holiday here and we had plans, so it was always going to be difficult.  And the mouse is still in the house somewhere.

Today I discovered that the voluntary commitment I thought I had for Friday is not for approximately three hours, but rather for the whole day – and indeed, a long day.  I still have cordial and brownies to make for the fête on the weekend (because there’s nothing like a mouse in the kitchen to put a crimp in your cooking plans).

And Saturday is Dancing Concert Day (forget getting anything but hair, makeup, ferrying, feeding and watching done on that day).

And the mouse is still resident.

And did I mention that the dog has done an anterior cruciate?  Not as funny as it sounds.

Very soon, this undertoad will qualify as an overtoad, or indeed an ubertoad.

So here’s what I’m doing.  I have let myself off my solid 3-hour-stint plans for the rest of this week.  There is only so much stress I can take without snapping at all I hold near and dear and it really isn’t worth that.  I have index cards in my bag, by my bed and on my desk.  While I’m cooking and shopping for mousetraps, I am thinking constantly about my story and jotting down scene ideas and character notes as they come.  I’m also writing down snippets of scenes as they come to me (in the gaps between disinfecting) and today I think I might have struck on an opening! And next week, after this toady mess has passed, I will put them together and have a running start at framing this new tale.  I can make this one better, stronger, more gripping and I shall.

Just as soon as I climb over this toad.

How’s your November going?

17 thoughts on “Of Mice and Progress and the Undertoad…

  1. I’m being ‘terrible Muriel’ when I say that your post reminds me a little of the most famous procrastinator of all – Hamlet – who had very commendable reasons for not avenging his dead father’s murder! Just saying… (sorry) 🙂

    • Oh, get thee behind me with your Shakespearean allusions! 😉 You have a point, but really, this week was always going to be difficult. The mouse and the illness just iced the cake. However there is dress rehassle for The Dancing Concert on Thursday night and that has been set aside for writing time, so I’m not quite Hamlet yet! (Besides, his procrastination made a cracking story!) 😉

  2. Give yourself this week, don’t beat yourself up over it. You will catch up on your plotting and word count. As for NaNoWriMo it is a near impossible feat if you have a family and commitments. If you are writing ideas and spots of dialogue here and there, you are plotting, which means you are writing.

    • Thanks, Sasha! Yes, November is always hard for me. We have the dreaded concert and fete, both of which require a lot of time and effort and I am behind on some other things at the moment as well. I was determined not to use that as an excuse but when you are stressing over every little thing, I think you need (or I need, anyway) to take a reality check. I am doing good head-work, I think. It remains to be seen how that will come out next week!

  3. That undertoad is MEAN!
    Hope it all comes together for you soon, Imelda. And you catch that mouse. Cheeky thing.
    I’m a big fan of Alexandra Sokoloff too. I found her Screenwriting Tricks really helpful.

  4. I think I’m in love with the undertoad! I could blame all manner of things on him and shrug saying, Damn, it was that undertoad again. Of course you are stumped and unable to write…an undertoad has hopped into your life. I definitely want one because nothing has gone right this week and I was stupidly blaming my bad organisation. Thank you for an entertaining post and hope that toad goes under a rock and stays there for you!

    • I’ll get him under the rock eventually Joanna! I think sometimes it’s worth remembering that some things really are out of your control and when they hit, you just need to ride it out and not stress!

  5. Dear Imelda,
    There’s nothing like a cat when it comes to mouse undertoads. “lol”
    Sounds like you have a story brewing. I like that!
    My November is well. I have spent time with Sherrie and I have posted a new Art Gown.
    Next week I will finish reading “Playing By The Rules”
    Luv Resa 🙂

  6. That pretty much sums up my year! A year of undertoads – creatures which I unfortunately invited in in the first place (I’m talking metaphoric ones, in this case!). I hope your toad situation is under control, and your November is ending better than it started! 🙂

    • And I hope yours did too, Alarna, my dear! Sorry I missed this comment! My undertoads had families, as they are wont to do – especially, as you say, the ones you invite in. Hope you had a lovely festive season and that this year is totally toad-free!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

