Character is in the eye of the beholder…

Hello, my lovelies!

I must apologise for the radio silence. I have been editing the BOOK THAT REFUSES TO KNOW WHEN IT’S BEATEN and my anal brain will not let me play on the blog until it is done.

But I have beaten my brain into submission for a moment, to share some thoughts about the book that I have coming out tomorrow (my time – 16th of September, all going to plan…)

DESTINY_Playingbytherules_cvr smallIt’s called Playing by the Rules and I think I have mentioned it before. 😉  Once or twice.  Not going to bore you with the details (you can follow the links if you want more info), because there’s something particular I wanted to talk about.

See, with this book, I have spread the word that it is available on Netgalley, for reviewers, with the result that I have some reviews on Goodreads already.

And I’m FASCINATED.

First, because not everyone gave it five stars.  What’s that about? 😉

Not really, folks.  Seriously, though, I am fascinated by how differently different people see characters.  Of course, not everyone is going to like every book.  And I can easily accept that some elements of the story don’t suit some readers.  But I’m intrigued by the reaction to characters, particularly, in this book, the heroine, Kate.

Now, Jo, the heroine of my first book, Rules are for Breaking, I can understand people not liking.  She’s prickly and difficult and set in her ways (although also very likeable, at least according to me).  But I thought Kate was a bit of a love.  In fact, the first time I wrote her, she was so nice she was boring.  Part of the editing process I went through with this book was toughening her up a bit.  And some people agree with me, that she’s nice – but others think not.  It seems she is a little like Mort, the cute lemur from the movie Madagascar.  For some people, he (and Kate) are like this:

A little sad, a touch vulnerable, but mostly adorable.

But for others, Mort (and poor Kate) come off like this:

A little annoying.

So I have a challenge for you, should you choose to accept it.

Playing by the Rules will be available very soon from all the usual outlets, for a very reasonable price (on the Australian Amazon pre-order page, it’s only $3.67).

If you would like to, buy the book, read it, and let me know what you thought of Kate and Josh and their story.  I would love to hear what you think!

(If you’d like to also leave a review on Amazon or iTunes or wherever you bought it, or on Goodreads, if you’re on there, that would be lovely too.  But I realise finding the time to read at all is a big ask for many of us, so please don’t think it’s expected.)

Thank you for considering the challenge and I hope all is well with you and your sometimes-adorable, sometimes-annoying friends (real or imaginary)!

~

PS – note on outlets.  It’s hard for me to check international sites.  It SHOULD be available from the 16th of September in your timezone.  If it isn’t, can you please let me know and I’ll get on to the publisher to sort that out.  Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Character is in the eye of the beholder…

  1. Hi Emelda, I am going to purchase (and read) your book very soon. I enjoyed the first one so I’m expecting the same with ‘Playing by the Rules’ When time permits, I’ll post up a review 🙂

  2. Oooh, I know where you’re coming from. In Arafura, the first few girlfriends who read it said they loved Kat, the protagonist. Love? Really?? Then a respected friend said Kat annoyed her. Yikes. It’s also funny who said they’d run away with the antagonist (they’d have to fight me first), who said he was ‘hot’ and who said he was NOT! It’s a funny feeling to get feedback on a character, isn’t it, especially when characters come from within, SO subjective. I guess in real life no one is liked by everyone either.

  3. Imelda!

    I for one am very excited to read your new book and meet Kate.
    When I’m enjoying the characters in a book, I can see them … in their clothes. The more well defined the character, the more defined their wardrobe is.
    I know where they shop, and how to articulate them through the use of clothing.
    I can hardly wait to dress Kate in my mind!
    In the meantime I am articulating around 150 characters on the mini-series I am designing.
    The lead has around 46 changes.
    “lol” Sigh! Love _Resa xo

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...