Going your own way

I was going to have a rant.  I read something about writing process that gave me the irrits, and I was going to have a rant.

But then I got to thinking (it’s my curse, being able to see things from both sides) and I decided that there was something in the advice, even though it irritated me, so I have been giving it some more, less ranty thought.

There will be a post in it, but in the meantime, the gist of what I wanted to say is:

Do what works for you.

If it’s writing like a mad thing, then editing at leisure, do that.  If it’s writing at the kitchen table after everyone is in bed, do that.  If it’s doing most of the work in your head, then writing the thing in almost one draft, do that.  Whatever gets you to ‘the end’ and makes you happy with the result is what works for you and don’t let anyone tell you it’s wrong.

And now, in celebration of doing things your own way, my latest favourite musical group, Walk off the Earth, with a great a capella cover of Taylor Swift’s I Knew You Were Trouble.

I should have got onto them much earlier, as they were the ones responsible for this clever cover of possibly the most covered song in the history of the internet, Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know.

I was amused to discover this little more recent send-up, which made me like them even more:

And finally, perhaps the best example of my point, of doing it your own way, this great cover of the Beatles From Me to You.

Enjoy!

Have a great day – your own way!

11 thoughts on “Going your own way

    • Ha! there’s obviously something in the air this year, Amber! That made me laugh. And thanks for your clip too. Love that song (obviously, given the title of this post)!

  1. One hasn’t been “writing writing” of late with regard to bookish antics, but one does know one deems it vital to use “one” a lot more frequently. Why? One doesn’t know. Looks good though, eh?

    • One certainly feels that the use of ‘one’ gives one a certain cachet unattainable by other means. One fears though, that in these parlous times, it is not as well accepted as it once was. One fears for the future of one’s language, but one must bear up and keep everything stiff, mustn’t one?

  2. Each journey is via an individual path. For me, Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Less Travelled”, serves as a reminder that we choose the path most interesting to each of us, whether it be the highway, like so many take, or the byway with all its twists and turns. Looking forward to your next post! Cheers, Susanne

    • Thanks Susanne! It’s so true, you have to take the road that makes most sense to you – and that can change from project to project as well as person to person. The older I get the more I think that being true to yourself is one of the most important parts of any art.

  3. Hey Imelda, totally get your rant. Sometimes the rules just don’t fit… Encourage you to do what’s right for you, no matter what! And I love the original groove of this group! 🙂

    • They’re fun, aren’t they? The group, I mean, not the rules! ‘Rules’ are useful to examine, as they often have kernels of usefulness, but not if they stress you out. Whatever gets it done!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

