Bad friend, with good books…

Her Italian Aristocrat Louise ReynoldsSecrets in TimeHouse-for-all-Seasons-Jenn-J-McLeod-194x300Ask Me To Stay Elise K Ackers

As those of you who keep up with my shenanigans will know, I have, of late, been locked deep in the writing cave* finishing a manuscript (a new romance which there will be more on soon, I hope).  Consequently, my blogging has been somewhat neglected.  This, in itself, is not that big a deal (well, it is, it’s slack, but I’m sure your wheels haven’t fallen off as a result).  But what is a big deal is that, due to the locked-cave sitch, I FORGOT I WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE GUESTS ON THE BLOG THIS MONTH!

There’s no excuse.  I have a little diary for the purpose of keeping up with the blog calendar and it is right next to my left elbow as I type this.

But in spite of its existence and extreme cuteness, I did it. I forgot.  I think I mostly forgot is was April.  Which, given it is my birthday month, is something of a worry

Now, I have left it too late this month to actually interview these authors, so I’ll have to do that another time (and I will, because they are all completely awesome).  But in the meantime, the least I can do is introduce you to their books, because they are also extremely cool and you might just be in the market for some reading diversion.  So, without further ado, may I introduce you to:

Her Italian Aristocrat Louise Reynolds

The very lovely Louise Reynolds.  I have known Louise for several years now, as we both joined the Romance Writers of Australia and were fixtures at conferences and all such gatherings for quite some time (I won’t go into how much time) before our first stories hit the market.  Then, when they did, it was with the same label, namely Destiny Romance, the still-quite-new digital-first Romance imprint of Penguin Australia.

Louise’s first title with Destiny is Her Italian Aristocrat (pictured left).  It’s a lovely story of two people with pasts and consequently prejudices, who finally find that they are not as different as they thought, and so can succumb to the rather delicious attraction between them.  As well as the adorable love story (including an alpha male who I didn’t want to throw out the nearest window, a rarity for me) this story also offers a magnificent Italian setting, glorious shoes, opera and some very cute secondary characters.  The elderly shoe-master is a treat.

Her Italian Aristocrat is available at all the usual ebook outlets (the link above goes to Amazon, but if you click on the cover you will go to the Destiny website, which has links to other outlets as well.  But – STOP THE PRESSES – along with several other Destiny titles (including mine, Rules are for Breaking), it is available in print in Australia Post stores for a limited time.  They’re in the Mother’s Day catalogue and everythingForgive the bolding – it’s a bit exciting!

Secrets in Time

Second on my list is Alison Stuart, one of my favourite, and most flexible, historical authors.  Her new and very recent release is Secrets in Time. I read it on the weekend and I loved it.  But then, I love everything Alison writes.  Her stories are historically accurate, dramatic, exciting, sweet and heartwarming all at once.  And she does write lovely heroes!

Here’s the official blurb:

Can love endure across time?

When a seventeenth-century cavalier hurls himself over her garden wall, Doctor Jessica Shepherd is more angry than surprised. Although she is no stranger to military re-enactors, there is something different about Nathaniel Preston. If he is to be believed, something…or someone…has sent him forward in time from the midst of a civil war to the quiet English countryside of the twentieth century.

With time working against them, Nathaniel has to convince Jessica why fate brought them together before he is forced to return to his own era and certain death in battle.

Can the strength of love overcome all obstacles, even time itself?

It’s a lovely story, full of heart, family, timey-wimey complications and thrilling links to the very real dangers of civil war.  A wonderful story to curl up by the fire, or in the hammock with.  It’s out now. The cover links to Amazon, but you can find other outlets here.

House-for-all-Seasons-Jenn-J-McLeod-194x300House for all Seasons is Jenn J McLeod’s debut novel and a very lovely debut it is.  You may have come across Jenn through her ‘Author Harvest’ series on her blog, in which she interview writers of all styles (including me).

Jenn J is a country girl at heart and her catch-phrase for her fiction is ‘come home to the country’.  It’s an idea expressed beautifully in this novel.  Four women, old friends but currently not so much, are forced, in some cases much against their will, to spend some time in a country house and in the process discover a lot of things – about the place, their pasts and themselves.  As the blurb on her website says, “In a country house surrounded by the past, four women will discover… small towns can keep big secrets.”

It has been collecting some very nice reviews, but I think one of my favourites (as well as short) is this one: An endearing debut novel which offers hope and renewal to four friends.” Sophia~Culture Street.  I love stories about hope and renewal!

Ask Me To Stay Elise K AckersWhich is a perfect segue to talking about the last one on my list, Elise K Ackers‘ latest release (also with my publisher, Destiny Romance) Ask Me to Stay.

According to Destiny Romance, this is a “tender tale of love and redemption”.  I admit, I haven’t read this one yet (sadly, there are only so many hours in a day) but I expect to enjoy it when I do.  It is the first in a series of shorter novels from Elise and it covers some of my favourite story elements: family, love, fixing mistakes and building a future that transcends the stuff-ups of the past.  (I’m pretty certain that isn’t how the official blurb describes the books, but hey, this is my blog and I’ll use ‘stuff-up’ if I want to! 🙂 )

This first one in the series is as much about the relationship between the hero and his extended family as it is about the romance.  There’s an extract here.  I like that.  After all, it isn’t as though any of our romantic relationships can ever be completely independent of our families.  Even if we are estranged from them, they still have an effect.  I like stories that acknowledge that.  And this one has the advantage that, if you like it, you know you have more stories about this community to come!

*Takes deep breath*

Whew!  That was a bit of a ride!  Remind me not to squish four authors into one post again!  Or, in fact, remind me to check my calendar in future…

I hope you liked this quick intro to these four friends and their books.  I’ll introduce you properly later, but for now, there’s some reading to be getting on with.  I’ll be back on Wednesday with an update on what I’ve been up to while absent from these pages!

See you soon!

Imelda

*Hmmm: can you lock a cave? Must research. (Oh dear dog I have been writing WAY too much. For the non-writers, this is what it is like ALL THE TIME in the writing brain.  This is why the icecream ends up in the pantry and the socks in the freezer…)

5 thoughts on “Bad friend, with good books…

  1. Pingback: Fuel for the Worker | Wine, Women & Wordplay

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

