To My Valentine…

Microsoft Clip Art Photo

You meet a lot of lovely people on the interwebs.  One I met recently is writer Terri Giuliano Long, who is this year, hosting a fun blog hop to celebrate Valentine’s Day.

I signed up to join the hop a while ago, not knowing quite what I’d write about.  The prompt was to talk about our favourite romantic reads. Should be easy, I thought. I have plenty of those.  But that was my undoing.  I thought of too many!

So then I decided to think outside of books.  And I remembered that, much as I love a romantic story, my favourite kind of romantic read isn’t printed inside the covers of a book, but by hand on a piece of paper:

Love letters.

Once they were common but are they a lost art in this electronic age?  I hope not.  What can compare to sneaking away somewhere private to read, over and over again, someone express their love for you?  It’s a special kind of bliss.

Maybe this Valentine’s day, instead of buying flowers or chocolates or going out, we should take the time to put down in words how wonderful life is ’cause our beloved is in the world. (With apologies to Elton John. 😉 )

To get you in the mood, here’s one I prepared earlier, in response to a similar prompt on the RWA blog, for my Valentine:

“Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate…”

But no, that won’t do. Summer in Australia is an uncomfortable and, lately, a frightening thing. To be called ‘more temperate’ than that is not much of a compliment!

In any case, thou art not. Thou art moody and can be difficult and in some things I fear we will never understand each other. You are passionate about things that matter and lots of things matter. When things bother you, you can’t sleep and make remarks about my snoring (as if you don’t!).

But you are also gloriously silly and make me laugh. You accept me the way I am and encourage me to be all I can be. You try to understand, even when I make no sense to you at all. You are loyal in a way that staggers and humbles me. And when you can’t sleep, you do housework!

To be without you would be much worse than being without summer. Compare it, rather, to being without oxygen.

But no, even that isn’t entirely true. Without oxygen, I would die. Without you, I would live, but it would be a life bereft. To live without you would be like living without light; without laughter; without stories.

You are truly my other, and frequently better, half.

I can’t write poetry and bless you, you wouldn’t appreciate it if I did. So I can’t immortalize you in verse. But I can do this and this little I shall do because it is only a fraction of what you deserve. So, with apologies to the Bard:

“So long as this blog shall last and eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives honour to thee”

I hope you liked it.

If you’re inspired, share your inspiration in the comments!  Inspire ME with your words of love and there may even be a prize…

And if you need some more inspiration why not visit the rest of the lovely writers in the blog hop?  You can find their links HERE.  Some of them are taking part in a giveaway, so there’s another chance for a prize!

Whether you are spending this day with your partner, or taking the opportunity to approach a potential partner, or just rejoicing in loving yourself as you deserve, I wish you a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

22 thoughts on “To My Valentine…

  1. Imelda thou art cool,
    Imelda thou art sweet,
    I say you are a groover,
    One that cannot be beat.

    If it’s meant to be thee instead of thou then you’ll just have to go with it. Sorry. Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  2. I just adore love letters – yours was great! Light-hearted, personal and full of nods to thwarted greats. I wrote my Valentine a few penned lines, too and he liked it. Not something seen in a standard card!

    • I did wonder what I had done to thwart them! Hehehe! I’m sure your lovely boy liked your card. I still have some things that himself wrote me when we were at the stage you are at now. Try doing that with flowers! 🙂

  3. Loved the letter you wrote!

    I also love love letters and have kept old ones in a tin under my bed. (And I’m also a sucker for letters in stories. ^_^)

    • Thank you! I’m glad you liked it and I love the idea of a tin of love letters under the bed. Two of my favourite things together. I have a thing for tins. Especially ones with hinged lids. But that’s another story! I’m glad you mentioned letters in stories. I think I would like to try a short story written in letters. It’s an old technique, but it would be fun to try to make work, I think. another thing for the list! Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment. Lovely to ‘meet’ you!

  4. That was darling! I actually prefer that type of gift over anything tangable. Over the years, I have been blessed with children who hand write cards, and written poems from special people. These are treasures. I, too, write poetry as gifts, but it feels too private to share here. The gift of our hearts is always the sweetest gift…

    • Hello Susan! I’m sorry I missed your comment! I’m sure the recipients of your poems value them all the more highly for them being private. I love that you write poetry. Good poetry is one of my great joys but it is really not my natural writing home. I have a slim notebook in which I am gradually writing the poems of mine that I think are worth keeping. At this rate, I might get close to the middle of the book before I die… 😉

      Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  5. That’s a really beautiful letter, Imelda. I like it – a lot! There is a romance in letter writing… I happen to have some copies of letters exchanged between my late grandmother and her fiance. They are so very cute. One talks about the squeak the couch in their parents living room made when they were last visiting together 😉

    • Oh that’s adorable! My Mum donated letters between my great grandparents to the archival library in Western Australia, as they were written between there and Ireland. There are some fasciating descriptions of life on the goldfields in WA, as well as a great deal of feeling. Also the writing and penmanship skills put modern communications rather to shame… I’d love to write something one day using letters. It’s on the list!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

