OH. MY. GIDDY. AUNT!

Okay, I had a post organised for today.  It was all about how I’ve determined that I’m going to finish long-standing crafty projects and post more of my quick and easy recipes and all that good stuff.  But then, I saw THIS.

The Australian Romance Readers Association has published the finalists for their 2012 awards and I AM ON THE LIST!

Or rather, this is:

Rules are for breaking

My little Romance is flying the flag for my publisher, Destiny Romance.  Whatever happens now I’ll always be the first Destiny title nominated and I am THRILLED.  THRILLED, I tell you!

If you are looking at the list, I’m in Favourite Contemporary Romance (man, I loved typing that!).

For those not familiar with the Australian Romance scene, there are some very experienced and deservedly successful authors on that list.  I am honoured – and frankly a little staggered – to be included among them.

I discovered my listing last night while I was casually checking on Facebook before going to bed.  I was cruising down the list, smiling at all the friends and familiar names I saw, including several who are nominated multiple times, when BAM! – there I was.

I read it at least three times just to check I wasn’t hallucinating.  Then I checked with a night-owl friend on FB that she could see it too.

But it seems it is real.

I am so grateful to the members of ARRA who voted for me to get me to this stage.  I was feeling a little down and discouraged last night, then this landed like a message from the universe.  I’ve been too stunned to really feel it up to now, but as I type this I’m starting to tear up.  To everyone who has supported my little book, my first dip into the waters of publishing, thank you!  You rock!

Thank you too, to Carol and Sarah from Destiny for believing in me, for Arwen who helped edit and Alex who designed the cover, to Clare and Annabel from Curtis Brown and to everyone who helped make this happen.

And for any Australians who haven’t bought it yet – or who might like to buy an award nominee [squee!] as a gift – it’s still on sale for a few more days through all the outlets: Destiny, Kobo, Google Play, iTunes and Amazon.

Get in quick and grab some of the other Destiny titles as well while you’re at it!

I’m off to drink champagne for brunch!

Squee!

30 thoughts on “OH. MY. GIDDY. AUNT!

  1. Congratulations, Imelda! It’s a great book and a well-deserved nomination. Will have everything crossed for you in March.
    Louise

    • Thank you, Louise! I enjoyed yours too (Her Italian Aristocrat, from Destiny Romance, link above!). You performed the previously unknown trick of making me like an aristocracy story! I loved your characters’ backstory and believable hangups. I liked both of them and I loved the setting and the old shoe-maker! Feel free to quote me!

    • I’m so glad you liked it Roslyn! It’s true, there’s nothing sexier than a man who irons. I have one, so I know… Thank you so much for taking the time to review it. I think you do a very good job at reviewing and it’s a skill I greatly admire as it’s not one I possess! Keep up the good work with your blog!

    • Thank you! And thanks for taking the time to drop by! I have been remiss in checking out my friends blogs, but one of my goals is to do better this year (that was part of the post that got bumped for the news…)

    • It is a great list, isn’t it? I’m so honoured to be on it and very grateful to the ARRA members who put me there – may their cotton socks be thrice-blessed! Thanks for coming by to congratulate me, I’m so touched by all the love!

  2. Pingback: Crafty schemes « Wine, Women & Wordplay

  3. Pingback: SYWTBAW: Getting your work out there « Wine, Women & Wordplay

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

