Wine and Word-Wranglers

It’s Wednesday!  And therefore, time for my update on my next set of goals for this year.

I want to talk about other writers more.

When I started the blog, I intended to have regular reviews on a Wednesday (had a title for the segment and all, Wednesday Review).  But I quickly realised – actually, remembered – that I’m really not very good at reviews.  I always hated doing them at school and I hadn’t done one since, so I’m not sure why I thought it’s something I’d want to do on a regular basis.

I also ran into the problems that come with being a writer and talking about other writers.  Can I talk about people who are my friends without people thinking that it’s all just blarney?  What about if their work isn’t quite my cup of tea but I think it’s good and that other people will like it – how do I handle that?  And the rest.

The upshot of all of this was that I stopped talking about books pretty much altogether.  I wasn’t entirely happy about this as a principle, but it seemed easiest.

But this is a new year, and one in which I am determined not to succumb to ridiculous fears.  A life lived in fear is a life half-lived, as Fran says, in Strictly Ballroom.   So I determined to find a way to manage to talk about writing friends.

At the same time, I realised that I had been sadly neglecting the ‘Wine’ part of ‘Wine, Women and Wordplay’.

So… drumroll please… Wine and Word Wranglers was born!

From now on, on a regular basis, Wednesdays will feature a word-wrangler of my choice talking about their work, their lives and what form of beverage  they think best represents them and their work.

I am very taken with this notion, not least because it is alliterative and we all know how much I love alliteration.  But it also gave me an excuse to think about how I would describe my own writing through the medium of alcohol.

I have decided that I am (or rather, I hope my books are) like a sparkling red wine.

Fun, sparkling, spritzig on the palate and a teeny bit frivolous, but with deeper notes that linger after the fizz is gone.  Unusual, a little surprising, but very tasty. 😉

I hope we’ll all have fun with it!

I will also be continuing and expanding my Wednesday Work in Progress posts. I seem always to be researching, and I’d love to share a bit more of that with you.

When I can cajole people who are better at it into reviews, we’ll have them too, and I’ll still keep up the Wednesday Whatever category for when things get freeform (as they are wont to do, chez Evans).

What do you think?  If you were a drink, what would you be?

8 thoughts on “Wine and Word-Wranglers

  1. That sounds like a good plan Imelda. I don’t do reviews either because I don’t want to upset anyone and honestly I might really like an author and not love that particular book…and because sometimes my TBR pile gets too big and already overwhelms me…who needs the pressure?
    I look forward to reading your posts.

    • Thanks, Monique. It really can be a minefield, can’t it? Not to mention the time! I’d rather leave reviewing to the people who are good at it. This way I can have fun without so much pressure! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. I’d love to say something smooth and expensive, but you know, I think I’m going to go with a Blue Lagoon. It fits with my debut novel, White Ginger. I love the beautiful blue colour (and it’s my favourite colour) 🙂 Cheers.

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

