Starring me as a social butterfly with real estate fantasies…

I am really getting around this week.  On Monday I was being interviewed by my lovely colleague Juliet over at the RWA blog.

Today, I am visiting the Lovecats Downunder.  The Lovecats are a delightful bunch of romance writers who very kindly invited me to visit their blog and said I could talk about ANYTHING (which shows they’re brave as well as lovely, dontcha think?)

I decided to talk about setting in Rules are for Breaking (debut novel out now, forgive me but I never get tired of saying that!) and in the process discovered that I have a scarily long memory and that I am obsessed with setting.

I know people who do long complicated ‘interview’s with their characters before they begin writing a book.  They find out who their best friend was when they were five, what their mother said when they were a teenager that scarred them for life and the like.  The idea of doing this both bores and terrifies me to tears.

Yet, I will happily take a whole day to wander around inner-city Melbourne looking for a building that looks right and is on the right tram line for my heroine to live in.  Or drive two hours to a pub by the sea that I want to set an important scene in (different novel, in case you were wondering).  I wonder if there’s a name for this condition?  Apart from real estate obsession?

Anyway, if you’d like to know a bit more about my weirdness and how it percolates into my novels, do feel free to to come and visit the Lovecats with me.

And don’t forget, if you’d like to go into the draw for a pretty bracelet and a free copy of the book, all you have to do is sign up for my newsletter.  It’s free, infrequent and I will never sell or otherwise distribute your details.  Ever.

Thanks for visiting and haveagoodweekend!

6 thoughts on “Starring me as a social butterfly with real estate fantasies…

  1. I’m a huge setting girl as well, Imelda. A YA I’m currently editing largely came about just so that I could write about an art deco hotel by the sea. Heh. 🙂

    Character interviews horrify me as well. I like to watch my character slowly emerge as the book progresses. It’s like getting to know someone organically rather than sitting them down at dinner with a paper quiz.

    • Yes! I know exactly what you mean about the paper quiz and dinner! I’m glad it’s not just me. I think of them as real people so I get to know them as real people, gradually. But I need to know where they live. Maybe I’m more visual than I think. It’s kind of a reverse set dressing I suppose. if I see where they live and work I’ll know things about them…

      And I completely understand writing a whole book about an Art Deco anything! 🙂 I’d like to read that one!

  2. Dear Social Butterfly,
    Fab interview at Lovecats Downunder!
    I went over and checked out Destiny Romance. Very Cool!
    I’m all set up on Amazon. Can I buy your book there?
    I guess I’ll go look!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

