Weddings, Parties, Anything – a few of my favourite things!

Today on the radio, I heard that one of my all-time favourite music groups is being honoured in a hall of fame.  The band’s name was Weddings, Parties, Anything and they’re an icon of the Melbourne music scene.  They were never huge in the charts, but they are well known and loved among Australians of a certain generation and deserve to be better known.

They have a special place in my musical history as I discovered them though this song, just after I first moved to Melbourne.  It references a heap of local landmarks and I remember being so excited when I recognised these new-to-me places in the lyrics of a song.  This video is a very cute interpretation, too! (BTW, the clocks in question are on the facade of Flinders St train station – a traditional place to meet in Melbourne.  Can’t tell you how excited I was the first time I arranged to meet someone there after hearing this song)

Under the Clocks

This is one that strikes a chord with anyone even vaguely interested in sport, who has had to listen to the bore in the office who dissects the weekend’s game at great and tedious length and always knows what should have happened.  In a town as sport-mad as Melbourne, they’re common…

Monday’s Experts

This is a classic which is a fabulous drinking song (unless you listen closely to the lyrics, in which case you might stop drinking…)

Roaring Days

This one touches me every time.

Father’s day

And this one, which I didn’t know the story of until today, seems ‘sent’ in the light of my last post.

I hope you like them as much as I do.  There are many more.  Look ’em up on iTunes! Enjoy!

Hug your loved ones and have a good weekend.

4 thoughts on “Weddings, Parties, Anything – a few of my favourite things!

  1. Hi Mel, One of my favs too. Love all the songs listed. Also especially love; ‘A tale they won’t believe’, ‘A decent cup of coffee’, ‘luckiest man’ and ‘Woman of Ireland’. With the latter, I especialy love the poem Mick use to do whren introducing the song.

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

