Friday Favourites eschews ranting and goes for links instead

I wrote a post for today, I really did.  It was ranty and long and potentially controversial – all those things that ‘they’ say blog posts should be, to get attention and make a name.  With the possible exception of the long.  I don’t know what they say about long.

But then I looked over at my bedside table.  On the top of the pile of books is a copy of the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius.  He was a Stoic, was Marcus; a philosopher.  And one of the principles of Stoicism is not to fret about things over which one has no control.

It’s a good principle.

Another one is that happiness is achieved, not by lusting after what one does not have, but by being satisfied with what one does have.

So instead of posting my rant, I have put it and the angst that goes with it away and instead I am going to share with you some of the great articles I have found in my cruising of the interwebs this week. (And a completely random picture of ‘The Dish’ at Parkes, just because I like it!)

First, an article from the NYTimes about how scientists have been staggered to discover that fitness matters more than weight and that fat people with certain conditions are actually more likely to live longer than thin people with the same health conditions.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/18/health/research/more-data-suggests-fitness-matters-more-than-weight.html?_r=2&ref=health

I’m thrilled to see some real science being applied to weight issues for a change, but seriously, people, the ‘Obesity Paradox’? So people can be fat and still fit?  People can be fat and not die?  Not to put too fine a point on it, Der, guys! (or if you are in America, D’uh, or D’oh!)  It’s only a paradox to you because you have bought the prevailing cultural prejudice against flesh.  Thin-ness is not necessarily next to godliness when it comes to health and it’s about time that you stopped jumping to conclusions and started seeing that.  Correlation is not causation people!*

Next up, we have an article about films that pay extraordinary attention to detail.  The article sees it as crazy levels of detail and in some ways I see their point, but I love this stuff.  I love that the detail on the Lord of the Rings set was such that even the cast felt it was real.  I think it does make a better movie and even more than that, I love that there are still craftspeople and storytellers in the world who care this much about the story.  http://www.cracked.com/article_20020_7-movies-that-put-insane-detail-into-stuff-you-never-noticed.html

In the spirit of the philosophical mood mentioned above, I liked this one on self-control, too.  Don’t know about you, but it’s something I can always use more of! http://www.forbes.com/sites/travisbradberry/2012/09/17/the-six-secrets-of-self-control/2/

And further on philosophy, I would like to share my fellow blogger Bella’s post (and the discussion that followed) on gender issues and identity.  It’s such a big thing in our modern world and this is a thoughtful and respectful discussion. http://gypsyroxylee.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/fellow-bloggers-what-would-you-say-to-this-reader/

Because I have been very slack on posting recipes lately, I thought I’d share this KitchenAid recipe for gluten-free lemon pudding.  http://www.kitchenaid.com.au/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&layout=item&id=271

And because I only just discovered this on the Penguin site today and because such things are still novel enough to charm me, I offer this shameless piece of self-promotion:  https://www.penguin.com.au/contributors/7027/imelda-evans

Hope you enjoy some of these and havagoodweekend!

*The eagle-eyed among you will have noticed that there was a teeny bit of ranting still here.  So, not entirely a Stoic then.  But in my defence, I haven’t finished the Meditations yet… 😉

4 thoughts on “Friday Favourites eschews ranting and goes for links instead

  1. Lady, I am tickled pink to be included in this post! Yay! And you should know I don’t say “yay” often! hee hee! Seriously though, thank you sharing my post. This is a subject that merits discussion and I am grateful that this is another step to continue to keep the lines of communication flowing. Hugs! 🙂

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

