A few of my favourite things…

Hello my lovelies!

I am sitting at the computer this morning drinking hot, hot tea and eating crunchy toast topped with very ripe camembert.  I don’t know about you, but for me, breakfast doesn’t get much better than this.

Camembert is definitely one of my favourite things.  The fact that my local supermarket discounts it when it gets near its use-by date is another.  I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed this, but camembert and brie ripen with time and in fact they are about perfect to eat just on their supermarket use-by date. Full of flavour, soft and creamy and… ahem.  moving on.  The point is that when the supermarket has a extra wedge and it goes in the deli discount basket, it’s a hot time for breakfast at my place.

I should point out that the picture above is of brie that is NOT ripe.  This is the firmness at which is it often sold and you can eat it this way (it’s much easier to cut, as demonstrated but the fact it is being cut with what looks like a pate knife) and it still tastes good.  (As is demonstrated by the fact that the photographer’s family clearly got to it before he got the tripod set up.) But it’s better when it is ripe.

But that’s actually not what I wanted to talk about today.  I really wanted to talk about the lovely Marian Keyes and her new novel, The Mystery of Mercy Close.

If you haven’t ever read Marian Keyes, I urge you to start.  She writes funny, moving stories about serious things and her novels (which have their own shelf on my bookshelf) are some of my very favourite things in the world.  Rachel’s Holiday is probably my favourite.  It’s a story about a young woman recovering from drug addiction and there are scenes in it that make me genuinely laugh out loud every time I read them.  And that, in a nutshell, is what Marian does so well.

I haven’t read The Mystery of Mercy Close yet, but there is something about it that I love already and I wanted to share it with you.  It’s the ‘shovel list’ and it’s basically a list – we all have one – of the things we love to hate.  I’ll let Marian explain:

If you follow me on Twitter, you might have noticed me using the hashtag #shovellist.  I’ve done it a few times already, but I’m really just warming up.  As of this morning, I have a whole new set of things.  Here are a few:

That clingy plastic that makes it impossible to get into the wedge of camembert: #shovellist

The hot raspberry pie that flings itself off the spatula to create a bloody crime scene on the bench: #shovellist

People who incite racial or religious hatred: #shovellist (actually they probably need to go on the #bulldozerlist.)

Media that only values women for one thing (God give me strength!) #shovellist

Well, I think you get the idea. If you are on the Twitters, do join in!

So go on, tell me: whats on your shovel list today?  Purging is good for the soul! Or for the snark, anyway!  Get it all out and avagoodweekend!

(The picture of cheese is from FreeDigitalPhotos.net, which is another of my favourite things!)

3 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things…

  1. Top of my #shovellist is a closed mind. Nothing scares me more, not even sharks with lasers. A closed mind, and people who think indicating before you turn is a quaint little habit left over from olden times best forgotten. Yeah, those two. And shoes that pinch because that’s super annoying too. Right, I think I’ll leave it there for now. Have a nice weekend!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

