Spring is coming!

Okay, for all you people in the Northern Hemisphere, I know this is unseasonal, but Down Under, the winter still has bite but the garden is showing that spring is not far away.  From my desk I can see two late-winter flowering bushes that are making me very happy indeed.

The first is a pink Camellia, which is bursting with blossom and which has carpeted the ground beneath it with petals so thickly that all one can see is pink.

The other is a white star magnolia, which is also covered with flowers.

And the best thing about them is that their beauty is a gift.

I’d love to say that it is due to my diligent gardening and horticultural skills, but neither of those things exist.  These plants are alive because they are tough and because, in the recent drought years, they were protected from the extremes of heat by the adjacent creepers that used them as climbing frames.  They are flowering like mad because they have recently been released from the creepers and can now get a decent crack at the sunlight.  They are beautiful because it is in their nature to be.

There are many things in the world that are hard and cold and tough.

But there are also moments and people of extraordinary beauty and today I am grateful for them.

Do you have a favourite beautiful thing – or person?

18 thoughts on “Spring is coming!

  1. Flowers are lovely, aren’t they. Such simple sweet things around us all the time. Not to do the Motherly love with a hammer of righteousness thing but I’m constantly amazed how gorgeous my kids are. Children are just so alive and loving it.

    • I know just what you mean, Valentina. Some of the most picky flowers that people fret most over, like roses and orchids, are also some of the toughest plants. They can survive through extraordinary harships and bloom again.

    • It is lovely! I’m so thrilled to see so many flowers on it this year. It really was being eaten alive by the creepers – but then, as I said, they saved it from being burnt to death in the killer drought, so I didn’t mind too much. But now it’s been released, it’s gone mad!

  2. I know I commented, but I don’t see it here. Did I dream it? Did I write it then not post it? Was I so tired that my report from the northern hemisphere sounded like the ravings of a lunatic and was not approved? Well, whatever, I love this post and your flowers, but mostly I love your writing. I too am thankful, especially for my wonderful partner N.

    • Partners are very much something to be grateful for! Maybe wordpress ate your comment (bad blog!). I hope it wasn’t the tiredness, although I suspect that’s bad at the moment. Is the end in sight on these jobs yet?

      • Mid- September, apparently.
        Imelda, if a work of yours ever gets made into a film or TV production, be kind to the Costume Designer! Today is my day off. I’m going shopping for my lead actor.

    • I love doing that! I can’t shake the feeling that one day I am going to make it to the end and the crock of gold. Oddly enough, I like the Westgate, too. I know it isn’t the most speccy bridge in the world, but I always get a bit of a thrill from it.

  3. A delightful post with some beautiful flower pictures, Imelda, and I’m glad you’re looking forward to Spring! We in the UK are past the longest day so are confronting autumn and then winter – ice, blizzards, darkness, frozen pipes, Christmas shopping, endless endless endless depression and finally despair. So can I come and stay with you?

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

