First Friday WordFest

A little while ago, I read a blog post (and when I track it down, I will come back and update with link to it, promise!) saying that we need to use the words we love, or we will lose them: they will become lost to everyday understanding.

I thought this was an excellent point and in honour of the great words, I thought I would dedicate the first Friday of every month to my favourite words.

To get the ball rolling, I offer today:

Lackadaisical
According to my Collins English Dictionary (yes, an actual book, with pages and ink and all) this is an adjective and means
1. lacking vitality and purpose or
2. lazy or idle, especially in a dreamy way

As in (as I used it on Twitter, just recently, to a Twit friend who has not given me a link to his book on Amazon)

Oi, you lackadaisical Spaniard, WHERE IS MY LINK?

I’m sure you could think of more polite ways to use it.  Although, then again, considering it’s meaning, perhaps not…

And the other word I wish to celebrate today is:

Recalcitrant
Which means:
1. (adj) not susceptible to control or authority: refractory
2. (noun) a recalcitrant person.

Or in other words, unco-operative.  I love that this comes from a Latin root, from the verb ‘to kick’.

Famous, in Australia, for the time that our then Prime Minister used it to describe a neighbouring political leader and his approach to negotiations and nearly caused an international incident.

And that’s it for today, as I must go and do other things.  I would like it on record that the choice of these two particular words has nothing to do with how late this blog went up today.  Although the fact that my subconscious threw up these two, in a month when I am trying to write a frankly ludicrous (another favourite word) total of words may be significant…

Do you have any favourites?  Any themes you’d like explored on the First Friday WordFest?  Let me know and I will do my best to accommodate!

21 thoughts on “First Friday WordFest

  1. Facetious – every vowel, in order! I love calling someone a facetious fellow (gotta love the alliterative quality too).
    How I love the tremendous scope of our language.
    Euphony is another I like. Winston Churchill spoke of the euphony of language and used it brilliantly when he sent the English language into battle against the Germans.

  2. Groovy post – there are certain words I really do rather love for numerous reasons. I supply a few here:

    Vacuous – Because saying “stupid” is sooo last year.
    Arbitrary – Because saying “random” is sooo last decade.
    As – As saying “because” is sooo last month.
    Pedantic – It’s a fun word.

    There are also words (nouns, I guess) that I sling into conversation arbitrarily on a pedantic level as I can be vacuous like that: Cheese, Cabbage, Jam, Haggis, Marmite, Marmalade, Daffodil.

    • All very good words and deserving of a spot on the use them or lose them list. Among the nouns, I particularly like Haggis and Marmite. To say, you understand. I have never tried Haggis and Marmite, as we know, is not to be countenanced by those reared on Vegemite…

    • I could be waiting a long time then, as my Spanish is inferior to my German and my German, at last count, consisted of five words. (I’m not inlcuding the ones I have learnt from Inspector Rex, like ‘hund’.)

  3. That’s one hell of a link, Imelda! I’m a bit teed off as it’s supposed to be available worldwide & others Aussies may not be as determined as you. But don’t get your hopes too high – it’s not War and Peace or even Gone with the Wind! Thanks for your interest and support, though – I really appreciate it. And be ruthless with your criticisms – I’m very thick-skinned (?) and that’s how you learn and move forward. (My Spanish phrase means ‘a Spaniard who lacks a daisy’ by the way. Oh well)

    • It is available worldwide, just not from the same site. i don’t understand why Amazon can’t go to the trouble of putting a link to the book on their US site, when they won’t sell it to me. The link they give just goes to the main page of the US site and unfortunately, there are many non-fiction books with Fraud in the title! You should complain! I have it. I like it so far.

  4. Yes, that occured to me – you have to search under literary fiction which makes it seem a bit obscure. Anyway, glad you’ve finally acquired it – thanks again & I hope you enjoy it. P

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

