Australian Women Writers Rock: Read Any Good Books Lately?

Wednesday Review is springing gleefully onto the Australian Women Writers Challenge bandwagon, trombone in hand!*

For those not familiar with the Challenge, the point of it, from the organiser’s point of view, is as follows (taken from the challenge website):

This challenge hopes to help counteract the gender bias in reviewing and social media newsfeeds that occurred throughout 2011 by actively promoting the reading and reviewing of a wide range of contemporary Australian women’s writing.

My objective is to read some good books and promote my fellow Australian women writers, who, as I say in the title, rock.  (Can I just say in passing how tempted I was to write ‘Women Writers Wrock?  Resisted with difficulty.)

For those who are interested, I will be taking the ‘Franklin Fantastic’ challenge, which is to read at least 10 books and review at least 4 and I want to read across a variety of genres.

I suspect there will be something of a romance bias in what I read, partly because many of the writers I know write in that genre and partly because, if women writers are undervalued, romance writers are even more so.  If this challenge is about giving credit where it is due, this massively popular genre deserves some of that credit.  For the same reason, I will be including some books that are published only as ebooks.  The rise of the ebook market has meant publishers are willing to take some risks on works that are a little out of the ordinary and that can only be a good thing for readers.  In my tiny way, I want to encourage that.

I have a few books lined up already, namely:
Vengeance Born, by Kylie Griffin
Dead Actually, by Kaz Delaney
Wanted: One Scoundrel, by Jennie Schwartz

But I need a lot more.  Suggestions are very welcome!

Read any good books lately?

Have a good Wednesday

Imelda

*I have always thought that, if one is going to get on a bandwagon, one really should bring an instrument…

8 thoughts on “Australian Women Writers Rock: Read Any Good Books Lately?

  1. This is not a romance one, Imelda, but one that really resonated with me. “When It Rains” by Maggie MacKellar. It’s not a fantastic topic (it’s her struggle with grief) but it’s beautifully told and hopeful.

    Cath

    • Thanks, Cath! I do want some variety, so that sounds perfect. I’ve also been put onto the Obernewton series by Isobelle Carmody, so the TBR pile is starting to grow nicely. Thanks for coming by.

  2. If you like Young Adult fiction, I would recommend Randa Abdel-Fattah. She has written five books, but I would recommend “Does My Head Look Big In This?” or “Ten Things I Hate About Me.” Those are the only ones I’ve found in my local library in the States, and they were really good. Very interesting insight to the struggles of Muslim-Australians.

    • Hi Casey! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I do, indeed, like YA fiction. Some of my favourite authors are in that area. I have heard of ‘Does my Head Look Big in This’, but had forgotten about it. Goody, another one for the list, and yet more variety! I think that would be a great one to review, too. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Thanks for including my book, Imelda – I look forward to hearing what you think. I think…
    🙂

    My suggestion is the new Jaye Ford book. I just finished over Easter and it’s a wonderful thriller set in Australia. Newcastle to be exact – very close to my own stomping ground.

    Entitled, ‘Scared Yet?’ it’s Jaye’s second book and is pubbed by Random House and just released this month. If you like a bit of suspense with your romance – you’ll enjoy this.

    Happy reading – what fun!

  4. I have just read an incredible political thriller ebook. I was browsing around at
    amazon.com and found this ebook called The Cain Sanction, I read the preview and a
    few chapters. It really was a page turner can’t put it down kind of book.
    I didn’t know how it ends until the last sentence of the last page.. great read!!

    Amanda

  5. I’m with Amanda. I just finished The Cain Sanction by Mary McNally Ratto and loved it!! It’s so refreshing to read a political thriller written by a woman. I love her writing style. It’s fast paced, very visual and thought provoking…especially in an election year. I can’t wait for her next book. Hope it’s soon. Highly recommend!! It’s a must read!!

Go on, have your say. You know you want to...

